join the conversation

join the conversation

Wednesday, February 29, 2012


The Communication Studies Department recently welcomed the inaugural members of Lambda Pi Eta during an induction ceremony with family, friends, and faculty on Ashland’s campus.
During a small ceremony at Eagle Ridge Manor, the Communication Studies Department proudly inducted the first members of the Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter; Molly Leonard, Christina Miadich, Christina Neely, Tyler Remmel, Cody White, and Megan Wise into the communication academic honorary. Proud parents and faculty members watched as these students were recognized for their outstanding achievements in academics and communications. The night was deemed a success as students, faculty, and parents mingled with each other while enjoying some delicious desserts.  Dr. Theodore Avtgis, Faculty Advisor to the honorary said “this is a wonderful evening for these students, their families, the faculty of the Department of Communication Studies, and Ashland University.  This ceremony serves as a celebration of the quality scholarship put forth by these outstanding students.”  
Lambda Pi Eta was founded in 1985 by Dr. Stephen A. Smith of the University of Arkansas. The Speech Communication Association established Lambda Pi Eta as an affiliate organization and as the official national communication honor society for undergraduates in 1994. Lambda Pi Eta is composed of undergraduate students who have a strong interest in the communication field and have achieved academic excellence. Some requirements include completing the equivalent of 12 semester hours of courses in communication, having a grade point average of a 3.25 in these courses, and be in the upper 35% of their graduating class.
Ashland’s Lambda Pi Eta chapter, Alpha Alpha Rho, looks forward to exploring the unique opportunities associated with this honorary, and they look forward to inducting new members as the Communication Studies Department continues to grow. For more information about Lambda Pi Eta, contact Mr. Cody White, President of the Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter, Ashland University.

Sunday, February 19, 2012


The Department of Communication Studies is proud to announce that the following students have had their research projects accepted for presentation at the AU College of Arts and Sciences, Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Symposium.  The symposium will take place on March 22, 2012 at the John C. Myers Convocation Center.  Congratulations to our majors on their recognition of scholarly contribution and our faculty for working with them:

Angelique Cunningham and Ashley VanGuilder, Global citizen: To be or not to be? (Dr. Pravin Rodrigues, Adviser).

Megan Wise, Profiling and detecting deceitful communication in security screening. (Dr. Deleasa Randall-Griffiths, Adviser).

Megan Wise, Medical professionalism and ethics. (Dr. Theodore Avtgis, Adviser).

Sarah Hutson, The choices of an Amazon. (Dr. Edith Foster, Adviser).

Wednesday, February 15, 2012


There is a new information board outside of the faculty offices on the third floor thanks to Communication Studies majors Adena Siefert and Stephany Elgin.  Be sure to look there for internship and research opportunities as well as upcoming events for Lambda Pi Eta, the Sport Communication Club, and Accent PR.  

Lambda Pi Eta Induction Ceremony Set for February 28th

The Alpha Alpha Rho chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the national honor society for scholarly excellence in the field of Communication Studies, has set its first ever induction ceremony at Ashland University.  The ceremony will be held at the Eagle Ridge Manor on February 28th at 7pm.  The list of inductees include the following students: Cody White, Megan Wise, Christina Miadich, Molly Leonard, Tyler Remmel, and Christina Neely. Inductees, their families, faculty, and staff of the Department of Communication Studies will be on hand to witness this historic event.  Alpha Alpha Rho Faculty Adviser, Dr. Theodore Avtgis said "This ceremony is to honor and celebrate the academic excellent of our students.  They have worked very hard and this recognition is one that they can be proud of throughout their promising careers.  This first class of inductees represent a new beginning in the Alpha Alpha Rho legacy being born her at Ashland."

For more information about this event contact Ms. Megan Wise at

Saturday, February 11, 2012


Our public relations club, Accent on PR, announces that the following individuals have been elected as officers for 2012-2013:
Vice President: Christina Miadich
Secretary: Chrissy Thompson
Treasurer: Molly Leonard

President Megan Wise said "I am looking forward to working with you all and I know we will make a great team!" There are currently 13 members in the club and are beginning to plan their public relations events and projects for the upcoming year.

Department Alumna Shoots for Olympic Trials

Abby Kacsandi, a graduate of the Department of Communication Studies, is attempting to make the Olympic trials in the heptathalon.  The Heptathalon is a two day event that combines the 100 meter hurdles, high jump, shot put, 200 meter on the first day, then the long jump, javelin, and 800 on the second day.  Olympic Trials will be held June 22 - July 1 in Eugene, OR.  We wish her the all the best and now she will give it her all.